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Overview 
The Agency for Health Care Administration (the Agency), Division of Health Quality Assurance (HQA) 
Health Facility Regulation licenses all adult day care centers (ADCCs) as defined in The 2004 Florida 
Statutes. The Department of Elderly Affairs, in conjunction with the Agency, has adopted rules as 
defined in the Florida Administrative Code to implement the statutory provisions for ADCCs. This profile 
contains both statutory and regulatory language. Providers of adult day health care services under a 
Medicaid waiver must meet general and service-specific Medicaid provider qualifications. 
 
Licensed assisted living facilities, licensed hospitals, and licensed nursing home facilities that provide 
adult day care services to adults who are not residents are exempt from licensure as an adult day care 
center, providing they do not hold themselves out to the public as an ADCC. However, the Agency must 
monitor the facility during the regular inspection and at least biennially to ensure adequate space and 
sufficient staff. 
Licensure and Certification Requirements 
Licensure 
Only 

 Certification 
Only 

 Both 
Required 

 Other  

Definitions 
Adult day care is a program of therapeutic social and health activities and services provided to adults 
who have functional impairments, in a protective environment that provides as noninstitutional an 
environment as possible. Participants may utilize a variety of services offered during any part of a day, 
but less than a 24-hour period. 
 
Adult day care center or center means any building, buildings, or part of a building, whether operated 
for profit or not, in which is provided through its ownership or management, for a part of a day, basic 
services to three or more persons who are 18 years of age or older, who are not related to the owner or 
operator by blood or marriage, and who require such services. Any facility that comes within the 
definition of an adult day care center must be licensed by the agency as an ADCC. 
 
Adult day health care is not defined in licensing or requirements; however, required and optional 
services are outlined. 
Parameters for Who Can Be Served 
No participant shall be admitted or retained in a center if the services required are beyond those that 
the center is licensed to provide. Admission is limited to adults with functional impairments in need of a 
protective environment and a program of therapeutic social and health activities and services. 
 
No participant who requires medication during the time spent at the center and who is incapable of self-
administration shall be admitted or retained unless there is a person licensed according to Florida law to 
administer medications. 
 
Any participant who is diagnosed a having a communicable disease shall be excluded from participation 
until deemed noninfectious. However, participants who have human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) 
infection may be admitted to the center, provided that they would otherwise be eligible according to the 
Rule. 
 
Centers are not required to accept or retain any applicant or participant whose behavior and physical 
limitations are deemed hazardous to the safety of the individual or other participants, and such 
conditions shall constitute a basis for termination of center participation. 
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Inspection and Monitoring 

Yes  No  
In addition to an initial licensure survey, a biennial license renewal survey, and a follow-up survey, the 
Agency shall conduct on-site surveys of ADCCs for the purpose of determining compliance with the 
relevant statutes and rules. The Agency may conduct an abbreviated biennial inspection of key quality-
of-care standards, in lieu of a full inspection, of a center that has a record of good performance. 
However, the Agency must conduct a full inspection of a center that has had one or more confirmed 
complaints within the licensure period immediately preceding the inspection or that has a serious 
problem identified during the abbreviated inspection. The Agency shall develop the key quality-of-care 
standards, taking into consideration the comments and recommendations of the Department of Elderly 
Affairs and of provider groups. These standards shall be included in rules adopted by the Department of 
Elderly Affairs. 
Required and Optional Services  

Adult Day Care Adult Day Health Care 
 

Required Optional Required Optional 
Activities of Daily Living (ADL) 
Assistance X  X  

Health Education and Counseling X  X  
Health Monitoring/Health-Related 
Services  X X  

Medication Administration  X X  

Nursing Services  X X  
Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, 
or Speech Therapy   X X  

Skilled Nursing Services     

Social Services X  X  

Transportation  X X  

Provisions Regarding Medications  
No participant who requires medication during the time spent at the center and who is incapable of self-
administration shall be admitted or retained unless there is a person licensed according to Florida law to 
administer medications. A physician, advanced registered nurse (RN) practitioner, dentist, RN, licensed 
practical nurse (LPN), or physician’s assistant can administer medications. Supervision of self-
administered medication shall not be construed to mean that a center shall provide such supervision to 
participants who are capable of administering their own medications. 
 
No prescription drug shall be brought into the center unless it has been legally dispensed and labeled 
by a licensed pharmacist for the person for whom it is prescribed. Participants who can self-administer 
medications may bring and be responsible for their own medications, unless the preservation of 
medicines requires refrigeration; or medication is determined, and documented by the physician, to be 
hazardous if kept in the personal possession of the person for whom it was prescribed; or is a safety 
hazard to others at the center, in which cases the medications shall be centrally stored in a locked 
cabinet or container. 
Provisions for Groups with Special Needs 
Dementia  Mental Retardation/ 

Developmental Disabilities 
 Other  persons with physical 

disabilities 
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Staffing Requirements  
Type of staff. The center shall employ qualified staff to provide the services, personal assistance, and 
safety measures required by the participants. The owner or operator may serve in a dual capacity as an 
RN, occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech-language pathologist, or social worker, if licensed 
as required by Florida law and qualified to provide such services. The owner or operator may be 
counted as one of the required staff members provided the owner or operator provides direct services 
and is included in the work schedule for the center. The designated responsible person shall be on the 
premises during the center’s hours of operation. 
 
If adult day health care services for aged persons or disabled adults are provided, the following staff 
members are required: (1) an RN or LPN on site during the primary hours of program operation and on 
call during all hours the center is open; (2) a social worker to supervise the provision of social services, 
including counseling for participants’ families and caregivers and compilation of a social history and 
psychosocial assessment of formal and informal support systems and mental and emotional status; and 
(3) an activity director or recreation therapist, who may be retained as a consultant. 
 
Staffing ratios. A minimum staff ratio of one staff member who provides direct services for every six 
participants shall be present in the center at all times. No fewer than two staff, one of whom has a 
certification in an approved first aid course and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), shall be present 
in the center at all times. At all times staffing shall be maintained to meet the needs of the participants 
as required by the participant file, including centers that serve persons with Alzheimer’s disease and 
other dementias, persons with physical handicaps, or other special target populations. The owner or 
operator shall not be counted more than once in the staff-to-participant ratio, calculated on the basis of 
daily census. 
Training Requirements 
Upon beginning employment with the facility, each employee must receive basic written information 
about interacting with participants who have Alzheimer’s disease or dementia-related disorders. In 
addition, newly hired adult day care center personnel who are expected to, or whose responsibilities 
require them to, have direct contact with participants who have Alzheimer’s disease or dementia-related 
disorders must complete initial training of at least 1 hour within the first 3 months after beginning 
employment. The training must include an overview of dementias and must provide instruction in basic 
skills for communicating with persons who have dementia. 
 
In addition, an employee who will be providing direct care to a participant who has Alzheimer’s disease 
or a dementia-related disorder must complete an additional 3 hours of training within 9 months after 
beginning employment. This training must include, but is not limited to, the management of problem 
behaviors, information about promoting the participant’s independence in ADL, and instruction in skills 
for working with families and caregivers. 
Relevant Medicaid Contracting Requirements for Adult Day Services Providers  
Adult day care centers that provide services under the Aged and Adult Disabled Waiver must be 
licensed in accordance with Chapter 400, Part V, Florida Statutes and must meet the general Medicaid 
provider qualifications contained in the Florida Medicaid Provider General Handbook, and the service 
requirements contained in the Aged and Disabled Adult Waiver Services Coverage and Limitations 
Handbook. 
 
Adult day health care services are provided 4 or more hours per day on a regularly scheduled basis, for 
1 or more days per week, in an outpatient setting. Adult day health care services encompass both 
health and social services needed to ensure the optimal functioning of the recipient. The services can 
be authorized up to 10 hours per day. However, authorization of more than 8 hours would be unusual 
and requires extensive written justification. 
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Location of Licensing, Certification, or Other Requirements 
1. http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=Ch0400/ 

titl0400.htm 
2. http://fac.dos.state.fl.us/faconline/chapter58.pdf  
3. http://floridamedicaid.acs-inc.com/XJContent/Aged%20and%20Disabled%20Adult%20Waiver 

%20Services?id=000001429515
4. http://floridamedicaid.acs-inc.com/XJContent/Medicaid%20Provider%20General 

%20Handbook?id=000000182139
Citations 
1. The 2004 Florida Statutes (Chapter 400, Nursing Homes and Related Health Care Facilities, Part 

V--Adult Day Care Centers, 400.55 through 400.564). 
2. Florida Administrative Code (Chapter 58A-6 Adult Day Care, 58A-6.001 through 58A-6.016). 

Department of Elder Affairs. [Updated 3/29/98 through 1/1/04] 
3. Aged and Disabled Adult Waiver Services Coverage and Limitations Handbook, Agency for Health 

Care Administration. Florida Medicaid. [Effective 03/04, updated 01/05] 
4. Florida Medicaid Provider General Handbook, Agency for Health Care Administration. Florida 

Medicaid. [Updated 01/05] 
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Each state can also be viewed separately at: 

Alabama http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayAL.pdf  
Alaska http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayAKpdf  
Arizona http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayAZpdf  
Arkansas http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayAR.pdf  
 
California http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayCA.pdf  
Colorado http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayCO.pdf  
Connecticut http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayCT.pdf  
 
Delaware http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayDE.pdf  
District of Columbia http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayDC.pdf  
 
Florida http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayFL.pdf  
 
Georgia http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayGA.pdf  
 
Hawaii http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayHI.pdf  
 
Idaho http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayID.pdf  
Illinois http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayIL.pdf  
Indiana http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayIN.pdf  
Iowa http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayIA.pdf  
 
Kansas http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayKS.pdf  
Kentucky http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayKY.pdf  
 
Louisiana http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayLA.pdf  
 
Maine http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayME.pdf  
Maryland http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayMD.pdf  
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Massachusetts http://aspe.hhs.gov/daltcp/reports/adultdayMA.pdf  
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